The prestigious title, generously supported by Drakes Pride, is awarded annually to the club that is judged to have shown the greatest efforts to promote the club, increase membership and work with the local community.

Roll of Honour:

Year Winner Runner-up
2018 Ilminster BC, Somerset Peacehaven & Telscombe BC, Sussex
2017 Lyndhurst BC, Durham Ilminster BC, Somerset
2016 White Hall BC, Essex Gildredge Park BC, Sussex
2015 Berkhamsted BC, Hertfordshire Lyndhurst BC, Durham
2014 Bolton FGBC, Lancashire White Hall BC, Essex
2013 Oakley BC, Hampshire Berkhamsted BC, Hertfordshire
2012 Clarence BC, Somerset Berkhamsted BC, Hertfordshire
2011 Ditton BC, Kent Clarence BC, Somerset
2010 Canterbury BC, Kent Yeovil Bowls & Squash Club, Somerset
2009 Iver Heath BC, Buckinghamshire Lockswood BC, Hampshire
2008 Ware BC, Hertfordshire Putney Town BC, Surrey

Bowls England is delighted to announce Ilminster BC in Somerset has been named ‘Club of the Year’ for 2018.

Ilminster BC, runners up in the competition in 2017, demonstrated continued improvement to beat off stiff competition from runners-up Peacehaven & Telscombe BC (Sussex) to claim the title.

Ilminster BC is very active on social media and continues to engage with regularly with the local newspapers, radio and television and show particular support towards Louis Ridout and Robert Paxton, who both represented Team England at the 2018 Commonwealth Games, in addition to Angie Thompson who was an International Technical Official at the Games.

The club has produced a number of advertising banners which have been strategically erected in high traffic and footprint points within the town, in addition to using the free Bowls England recruitment material to a great success.

In the last 12 months, the club has gained four new sponsors and have created a collaboration with Ilminster Town Council to become a polling station for local and general elections.

Bowls England Chief Executive Tony Allcock MBE said: “The quality of entries this year was once again of an exceptionally high standard. It is clear that many clubs are raising their game with regard to the work that they are doing to recruit and retain new members – most noticeably an increase in the use of social media to promote the sport to a wider audience. It was unanimously felt that Ilminster BC’s work to increase membership across all ages and abilities gave them the edge. Finally, I wish to thank Drakes Pride for their continued support of this competition.”

As winners, Ilminster BC will receive:

• £250 cash
• Four sets of Drakes Pride Bowls
• The Tony Allcock Trophy (to be kept for one year)
• Two Free Tickets to the Bowls England Men’s Annual Dinner & Prize Presentation
• Bowls England Pennant and Club of the Year Flag
• Framed Certificate
• A badge for each club member
• A match against a visiting Bowls England President’s Team

As runners-up, Peacehaven & Telscombe BC will receive:

• £150 cash
• Two sets of Drakes Pride Bowls
• The D’Arcy Drayton Cup (to be kept for one year)
• Two Free Tickets to the Bowls England Annual Dinner & Prize Presentation
• Bowls England Pennant
• Framed Certificate
• A match against a visiting Friends of English Bowling Team

The Award was introduced in order to recognise the work that clubs across the country do to promote the sport and increase participation.

Forgot your password?