The inaugural meeting took place on 28th May 1928 with representatives from seven clubs attending; these were Castle Green, Hereford, Kington, Ledbury, Leominster, Ross-On-Wye, St.Martins. The outcome was the formation of the Herefordshire County Bowling Association. A year later Eastnor Bowling Club joined to take the number of clubs to eight.

Probably Herefordshire has one of the longest sponsorship arrangements with the local paper ‘The Hereford Times’. In 1929 they sponsored a club knock-out with Hereford beating Leominster in the final and they are still supporting the competition to this day.

Another notable fact is that Hereford Bowling Club was formed in 1484 and is one of the oldest clubs in the country.

In 1948 the county played South Africa and America (jointly with Worcestershire). Also in 1950 the county played Australia and a year later New Zealand, winning both games.

In 1961 the ladies of the county got together and formed the Herefordshire Women’s County Bowling Association. In their Anniversary year of 2011 the Association attended a service at Hereford Cathedral to celebrate the golden jubilee.

At the end of 2011 Bowls Herefordshire was formed which represents Men and Women. Herefordshire was one of the first counties to have a joint presentation luncheon which has been taking place since 2008.

Currently the county have 17 clubs affiliated.

Notable achievements

  • 2011 Jack Gray (Eastnor) awarded Bowls England Certificate of Merit
  • 2014 Tracey Powell and sister Linda Smith (Leominster) once again won the National Women’s Pairs Championship.
  • 2014 Paul Brown (Ross-On-Wye) won a Commonwealth bronze medal.
  • 2015 Tracey Powell selected for England ladies.
  • 2015 Tom Holmes wins National Under 18 Trophy
  • 2016 Dan Holmes and Mike Ricketts runners-up in the National pairs.
  • 2016 Glyn Williams (Ross-On-Wye) awarded Bowls England Certificate of Merit
  • 2016 and 2017 – Jan Williams (Hereford), Karen Tandler (Brimfield) and Barbara Griffiths (Brimfield) win national Benevolent Trophy.
  • 2017 Phil Middkleton, Mark Atkins, Tom Holmes and Ryan Atkins won the National Rinks title.
  • 2018 Helen Skinner, Jennie Cole and Sheila Bennett (All Brimfield) win national Benevolent Trophy.


County Details

Contact: Jill Bowen
Tel: 01544 388401
Mobile: 07796 368305
Agreed Centre: Hereford

Forgot your password?