Certificate of Merit
This site uses cookies to store information on your computer. Please see our Cookie Policy for more information.
0 Items View Basket

for bowlers

Certificate of Merit

Bowls England introduced the Certificate of Merit to recognise the work of volunteers to support the sport at Club and County level - from Secretaries and Treasurers to Greenkeepers and Umpires.

The Bowls England Certificate of Merit is presented to individuals that are deemed to have provided outstanding service to the sport of outdoor bowls at club and county level in England.

The award is open to anyone who is involved with a club, county, organisation or association affiliated to Bowls England, except for those who have already received Life Membership or Honorary Membership of Bowls England.

The closing date for nominations is 31st August annually.

Click here to view guidance notes for nominations and the 2018 nomination form (Microsoft Word)
Click here to view guidance notes for nominations and the 2018 nomination form (PDF)

Recipients of the Bowls England Certificate of Merit

2017: Geoffrey Chapman (Kent); John Church MBE (Northamptonshire); Graham Marriner (Hertfordshire)
2016: Michael Bannister (Kent); Christine Hore (Cornwall); Margaret Langley-Roberts (Buckinghamshire); Glyn Williams (Herefordshire)
2015: Ralph Archer (Bedfordshire); Thomas Besford (Berkshire)#; Henry Franklin (Oxfordshire); Spencer Kerley (Hampshire); Brian Watts (Buckinghamshire)#; David Wederell (Somerset)
2014: Alwyn Baron (Yorkshire); John Cleverley (Northumberland); Charles Frederick (Cambridgeshire); Arnold Goad (Warwickshire); Kate Kyle (Leicestershire); James Laidler (Durham)#; Jackie Taylor (Surrey); Margaret Tully (Gloucestershire)
2013: Donald Knight (Hertfordshire); Brian Matthews (Berkshire)*; Anne Wilkinson (Northumberland)
2012: No Certificates awarded
2011: Thomas Addison (Yorkshire); Jack Gray (Herefordshire); Eileen Hopkins (Oxfordshire); Mary Trevennen (Cornwall); Mavis Wellington (Devon); Mike Poole (Hertfordshire); William Walton (Yorkshire)
2010: Michael Brookfield (Devon); Robert Burch (Devon); Wendy Davies (Sussex); Gillian Jones (Durham); Beryl Meeson (Hertfordshire); Irene Molyneux (Oxfordshire); George F Pike (Wiltshire)#
2009: David Counter (Devon); Ernest Douglass (Yorkshire); Don Draper (Durham); John Durston (Somerset); Stuart Laxton (Northamptonshire); David Powe (Hampshire); Eric Prior (Middlesex); Alan Quick (Cornwall); Dennis Taylor (Suffolk)

* Awarded posthumously
# Deceased

Official Sponsors

Bowls Club Insurance – Sutton Winson Taylor Bowls Dorset Bowls Resort Dales Sports Surfaces Drakes Pride Bowls International Logo: Bowls is Bowls Logo St James's Place Wealth Management

Latest News

Recommend a friend


©Copyright Bowls England 2019
Site by Warren Creative
Return to homepage Follow us on twitter Join us on facebook Recommend a friend Sign up for newsletter Back to top of page