Official site of the National Governing Body for Outdoor Flat Green Bowls in England
This site uses cookies to store information on your computer. Please see our Cookie Policy for more information.
0 Items View Basket

find a County


Contact: Mr Michael Rate
Tel: 01775 822220

Agreed Centre: Lincoln

County Profile

At a meeting held at the Mason Arms Hotel Lincoln, on January 1st 1949 attended by 15 bowlers and one press representative it was agreed to form a Bowling Association under the English Bowling Association Rules and Constitution and Laws of the game. The meeting was convened by Mr. Fred Brown a Federation County Bowler.

The first President elected was Mr William E Young who, at this time, was also President of Lincolnshire Bowling Federation.

Mr Tom Brown, brother of Fred, was elected Secretary/Treasurer, Tom (a school teacher) was eventually to bring honour to Lincolnshire by being elected President of The English Bowling Association in 1965.

At a meeting on February 17th 1951 the ladies of the County decided to affiliate to the E.W.B.A a small number of Ladies being present the following ladies were elected to office.

President Mrs H Spray, Senior Vice President Mrs Hilton, Junior Vice President Mrs E Grant, Secretary and Treasurer Mrs L.L Morley, Auditor Mrs Parker and Mrs E Ward was elected to form five for the committee

Many of the Lincolnshire Clubs were founded by heavy industry in the Lincoln, Grantham, and Scunthorpe areas – Appleby Frodingham, Rose Forgrove, Ruston Bucyrus, Clayton Forge, Aveling, Barford and British Sugar, all these Clubs now struggle for survival due to restructuring and takeovers with the inevitable closure of some.

Both the Men and the Ladies of the County being keen competitors entered National Competitions the Men the Middleton Cup and the Ladies the Johns Trophy, in the early years not a lot of success. They went on to win the Middleton Cup in 1976 and 1996,The County Men have had Junior and senior international Players, The Ladies had success in winning the Johns Trophy in 1998, 2006 and 2012 . In recent years Amy Gowshall and her Mother have won many titles at Leamington, Amy has played in Commonwealth Games winning a Gold medal in the pairs with Ellen Falkner in 2010, Penny Strong and Annalisa Bellamy playing in the senior International team. Mrs Joan Balding was National President in 2011.

The County accepted unification and formed a Committee of equal men and women to run the County affairs, known as “Bowls Lincolnshire”

View county events >

Official Sponsors

Logo: Bowls is Bowls Logo Taylor Bowls Bowls Club Insurance – Sutton Winson St James's Place Wealth Management Dorset Bowls Resort Drakes Pride Bowls International Dales Sports Surfaces

Latest News

Recommend a friend


©Copyright Bowls England 2019
Site by Warren Creative
Return to homepage Follow us on twitter Join us on facebook Recommend a friend Sign up for newsletter Back to top of page