Bowls England would like to take the opportunity to introduce the Expert Panel for the upcoming inaugural Awards Night.

Of the fifteen awards to be presented on the evening, eight have been opened for general nominations. Six will be decided by the expert panel, with two being short listed by the panel and then subject to an online vote.

Nominations are now closed, and voting is under way. The event at The Athena, Leicester will be a great start to a memorable 2022, so let’s meet the panel.


David Tucker

David is the Chair of Bowls England and will Chair the Expert Panel. He has 56 years of playing experience, club secretary of Topsham bowls club for 48 years and 100 caps for Devon in the Middleton Cup games. This all highlight David’s breadth and depth of experience and knowledge on the game.

Norma Hazzledine MBE 

Former International Norma Hazzledine, played a pivotal role in the 1996 Women’s World Bowls Championships before taking on the role of Competition Manager for the Manchester Commonwealth Games in 2002.  In 2019, she joined the Bowls England Board as Director of International Events. Since her retirement , Norma continues to make outstanding contributions to the sport in both her local club and county. She was awarded an MBE for services to the sport of Lawn Bowls in the 2021 Queen’s Birthday Honours.

Ellen Falkner MBE

Three-time Commonwealth Games gold medalist, represented Team England at five Commonwealth Games. Qualified as a level 3 coach and has played a fundamental part in the development of this qualification.  Ellen is a constant presence throughout the country providing coaching support for teams and individuals, her technical knowledge is featured in publications, television commentary and national coaching workshops.  Appointed in 2015, by Bowls England to lead the preparation programme for the Youth Commonwealth Games and in 2016 as a Lawn Bowls Team England Athlete Ambassador.

Deepak Tanna

Deepak is the current Junior Vice President of Bowls England. He has been heavily involved in the promotion, organisation and administration of the sport at both club and county level. Among other duties, Deepak has been President of Bowls Leicestershire, President of Midlands Counties BA and President of his own club, Goodwood in Leicestershire.

Foster Johnson

Foster Johnson first joined the Board in 2020, since then as Director of Governance; he has chaired the Governance Working Party.  Prior to his Board appointment, Foster was the chair of the Management Audit and Review Committee.  He is also the Secretary and County Administrator for Bowls Durham.

Jon Hart

Former Club Development Manager at the BDA, he created the new Club Development Programme as part of the 2017-21 Whole Sport Plan initiative which is currently being deployed across England. As Development Manager, Jon contributes to the strategic direction of the BDA. He manages the data and insight for the organisation and is responsible for overseeing the delivery of the BDA Club and Community work across England.

Jon Cockcroft

Chief Executive of Bowls England since June 2020. Formerly Commercial Director at England Hockey, a key facet of Jon’s role is to optimise commercial opportunities for the sport. He represents Bowls England internationally as a spokesperson for the sport, as well as being the Bowls England representative with the BDA, Coach Bowls and EBACT as a board member.


Individual Category Specialists


Mal Evans

Bowls England Director of Coaching and has 50 years of service as a teacher, including 26 years as a physical education teacher and 20 years as Head of Department. Mal has played bowls since the age of 14, qualified as a coach under the English Bowls Coaching Scheme in 1985, completing Coach Bowls Level 1, 2 and 3, in addition to becoming a Course Tutor for Coach Bowls. He will sit on the panel for our Coach of the Year award.

Alan Lewis

Alan joins the Panel as a specialist for our Greenkeeper of the Year award. His extensive knowledge as an Agronomist makes him invaluable in supporting the Panel to make the determination for this award. Alan is the Bowls England’s Green Maintenance Advisor and a Technical Director of Total Turf Solutions and holds an MSc.

Roger Moore

Roger is the Sales and Marketing Manager from our sponsors Dennis Mowers and will be panelist on our Greenkeeper of the Year award. Our new five-year partnership comes ahead at an exciting year for both Bowls England and Dennis and SISIS; 2022 marks the year of the Commonwealth games and the centenary year for the Dennis brand.

David Boow

David joins the panel for our Club of the Year award. He is Head of Recruitment and Payroll from our sponsors Sutton Winson and has over 30 years’ experience in the Insurance industry. He understands the importance of our clubs to its members and the community.

Ceris Hewlings

Bowls International Editor at Large Ceris Hewlings has been involved in the our sport since joining Tenby BC in West Wales in 1994. Ceris represented Wales outdoor at junior, senior and elite level, representing her country at the Atlantic Championships, European Championships and Hong Kong Classic. She was reserve for the Commonwealth Games in Glasgow in 2014. Ceris brings a unique insight and an ability to relate and comment on all issues and topics within our sport. She will sit on the panel for Story of the Year.

Charlotte Emanuel

Surrey Bowler and Umpire, Charlotte joins the panel in her current capacity as Chair of the English Bowls Umpires Association. She will be providing her expertise and invaluable knowledge of the game in deciding our Official of the Year award.

Explore the Awards

Forgot your password?