Inter-County Competitions | Regional Finals Preview

16th July, 2021

The Regional Finals of all Inter-County Competitions will take place on Sunday (18th July), with counties eagerly contesting to reach the National Finals.

All semi-final matches at the Regional Finals will commence at 10am, with the Finals being played at 2pm (unless otherwise stated).

Successful teams from all of the Regional Finals will proceed to the semi-finals to be held at the National Finals on Sunday 5th September at Victoria Park, Royal Leamington Spa.

Balcomb Trophy
The Balcomb Trophy is incredibly wide open this year, with four of the five recent champions all failing to reach the Regional Finals. Essex, who won the title in 2017, will face tough competition from Norfolk at Brampton BC, but early defeats for Devon, Lancashire, Leicestershire and Warwickshire, mean that Essex are the only champions since 2014 remaining in the competition.

North (Dunnington BC, Yorkshire):
Northumberland v Yorkshire; Cumbria v Derbyshire

East (Brampton BC, Huntingdonshire):
Norfolk v Essex; Suffolk v Northamptonshire

South (Bromley BC, Kent):
Hampshire v Surrey; Kent v Oxford

West (Olveston BC, Gloucestershire):
Wiltshire v Somerset; Dorset v Cornwall

Walker Cup
Lincolnshire start their defence of the Walker Cup at York RI BC against Yorkshire, who secured a 46-25 win against a strong Cumbrian side in the first round. There was an early exit for 2019 runners-up Northamptonshire at the hands of Suffolk, with other notable score lines seeing Oxfordshire defeat Sussex, the 2018 champions, and Worcestershire securing a 10-shot victory over Devon.

North (York RI BC, Yorkshire):
Lancashire v Durham; Yorkshire v Lincolnshire

East (Wellingborough BC, Northamptonshire):
Cambridgeshire v Essex; Suffolk v Norfolk

South (Sutton BC, Surrey):
Oxfordshire v Berkshire; Kent v Surrey

West (Clevedon BC, Somerset):
Somerset v Gloucestershire; Dorset v Worcestershire

White Rose Trophy
2019 champions Surrey fell at the first hurdle against Sussex, a reformed team who did not enter in the last campaign – Sussex will now take on 2017 runners-up Berkshire. Northamptonshire, who have enjoyed success in the competition in recent years (winners in 2018 and runners-up in 2019), start their voyage against a youthful Norfolk side. No side has ever reached the final of the White Rose Trophy in three consecutive stagings since the competition was introduced in 1993 – can Northamptonshire be the first to achieve this feat?

North (Borough Park BC (Redcar), Yorkshire):
Northumberland have received a walkover from Lincolnshire; Lancashire v Yorkshire

East (Newmarket Avenue BC, Cambridgeshire):
Northamptonshire v Norfolk; Suffolk v Leicestershire

South (Horsham BC, Sussex):
Berkshire v Sussex; Kent v Buckinghamshire

West (Chew Stoke BC, Somerset):
Somerset v Cornwall; Wiltshire v Gloucestershire

Amy Rose Bowl
2019 finalists Northamptonshire and Somerset are both on course to reach the 2021 National Finals – Northamptonshire face Gloucestershire whilst Somerset fresh from a 45-31 victory over a strengthened Devon side face Dorset, a side full of promising youngsters.

East/North (Hemingford Grey BC, Huntingdonshire)
Leicestershire v Norfolk (10.30am)

Midlands/West (Welford-On-Avon BC, Warwickshire)
Gloucestershire v Northamptonshire (2pm)

South East (Essex County BC, Essex)
Kent A v Surrey; Hertfordshire v Essex

South West (Ilminster BC, Somerset)
Hampshire v Wiltshire; Dorset v Somerset

Good luck to all of the teams competing this weekend!

Forgot your password?