Official site of the National Governing Body for Outdoor Flat Green Bowls in England
This site uses cookies to store information on your computer. Please see our Cookie Policy for more information.
0 Items View Basket

find a County


Contact: Bowls Leicestershire Administrator Roy Rogers
Tel: 01530 831977

Agreed Centre: Leicester

Women: 2719
Men: 1431
Total Number of Clubs: 96

Registered Men's Colours:
Green, Red and Navy

Registered Women's Colours:
Green, Red and Navy

Men's Stickers:
Green, Red and Navy

Women's Stickers:
Green, Red and Navy

County Profile

<p><strong>Bowls Leicestershire</strong></p> <p>The inaugural meeting of Leicestershire Mens Clubs was held in 1921 and the outcome was the formation of Leicestershire Bowling Association (LBA) with E.M. Bowler from Spinney Hill Park being the first LBA President. The very first Presidential Tour took place in 1951 and has continued to this day.</p> <p>On 24 May 1930 17 ladies from five clubs (Ashby de la Zouch, Market Harborough, Western Park, Rothley and Brookfield) met and formed the Leicestershire Ladies County Bowling Association. Officers were elected and a Club Affiliation fee of 5/- was set for the year. The Singles Championship was played for the first time, with an entrance fee of 1/- and the silver En-Tout-Cas trophy presented by the company.</p> <p>The first City v County match prior to the annual ladies trophy presentation took place in 1934 as did the first ladies County tour for 3 days to South Wales and Monmouthshire where the first item on the programme was Reveille at 6am and a &ldquo;Parade in Bathing Costumes&rdquo;. Steady progress in terms of women&rsquo;s bowling in Leicestershire was made and in 1938 it is recorded that the LLCBA had 19 clubs totalling 667 playing members and 125 associate members.</p> <p>Leicestershire has provided four Presidents of the EBA: 1995 M. Swatland, 1954 F. Burton, 1931 F. Greenwood, 1907 E. Pickard and five Presidents of the English Womens Bowling Association (EWBA): 1982, Mrs A Parkinson, 1978 Mrs D Johnson, 1970 Mrs J Pickering, 1954 Mrs A M Walker, 1938 Mrs Whitbread.</p> <p>International and National Honours have included Tony Allcock (Belgrave) in World Bowls, 1980-84 and Senior International appearances from 1978-84. From Leicestershire, Tony also won the Under 25 Singles Championships in 1974, 75 &amp; 77. Dorothy Lewis (Oadby) represented England in the Commonwealth games Fours team of 1990. The only lady Life Member of the LLCBA, Pip Green represented England alongside Dorothy from 1987-90 inclusive. In more recent years, BE Internationals have included Chris Rodgers, Neil Hope and Patrick Hulbert (former editor of Bowls International from New Lount) and the England women have been recently represented by Pa Walker, Helen Wall, Jennie Groves and Katie Smith.</p> <p>In Inter-County Championships, Leicestershire won the Middleton Cup in 1964, the Johns Trophy in 1993 , Balcomb Trophy in 1986 &amp; 2009 and the White Rose in 1998.</p> <p>The EBA and EWBA were supported by Leicestershire in the form of International Selectors: Roger Kirkpatrick and Michael Swatland. EBA Life Membership has been conferred on M. Swatland, D.E. Partridge, H. Backhouse, F. Harvey. Bowls England has seen representation on its various Committees by Bill Smith on the Policy and Management and Chris Massie, the latter taking part in the Unification Steering Committee for setting up Bowls England in 2008.</p> <p>The County is administered by an elected Board and more details can be found on our website <a href=""></a>.</p> <p>&nbsp;</p>

View county events >

Official Sponsors

Taylor Bowls Logo: Bowls is Bowls Logo Dales Sports Surfaces Dorset Bowls Resort Bowls International St James's Place Wealth Management Drakes Pride Bowls Club Insurance – Sutton Winson

Latest News

Recommend a friend


©Copyright Bowls England 2019
Site by Warren Creative
Return to homepage Follow us on twitter Join us on facebook Recommend a friend Sign up for newsletter Back to top of page