Club of the Year
This site uses cookies to store information on your computer. Please see our Cookie Policy for more information.
0 Items View Basket

for clubs

Club of the Year

Lyndhurst BC in Durham won the 2017 ‘Club of the Year’ crown.

The prestigious title, generously supported by Drakes Pride, is awarded annually to the club that is judged to have shown the greatest efforts to promote the club, increase membership and work with the local community.

Lyndhurst BC, runners up in the competition in 2015, demonstrated continued improvement to beat off stiff competition from runners-up Ilminster BC (Somerset) and fellow finalists Peacehaven & Telscombe BC (Sussex) and Southend BC (Essex) to claim the title.

Bowls England Chief Executive Tony Allcock MBE said: “The quality of entries this year was once again of an exceptionally high standard. It is clear that many clubs are raising their game with regard to the work that they are doing to recruit and retain new members – most noticeably an increase in the use of social media to promote the sport to a wider audience. The judging panel again had a tough choice in determining the winners across the categories. However, it was unanimously felt that Lyndhurst BC’s work to increase membership across all ages and abilities gave them the edge – indeed our judges in their final report noted that it is clear to see that they intend to maintain a very high standard for current and future members. Finally, I wish to thank Drakes Pride for their continued support of this competition.”

The Award was introduced in order to recognise the work that clubs across the country do to promote the sport and increase participation.

 Year  Winner  Runner-Up
 2008  Ware BC, Hertfordshire  Putney Town BC, Surrey
 2009  Iver Heath BC, Buckinghamshire  Lockswood BC, Hampshire
 2010  Canterbury BC, Kent  Yeovil Bowls & Squash Club, Somerset
 2011  Ditton BC, Kent  Clarence BC, Somerset
 2012  Clarence BC, Somerset  Berkhamsted BC, Hertfordshire
 2013  Oakley BC, Hampshire  Berkhamsted BC, Hertfordshire
 2014  Bolton FGBC, Lancashire  White Hall BC, Essex
 2015  Berkhamsted BC, Hertfordshire  Lyndhurst BC, Durham
 2016  White Hall BC, Essex  Gildredge Park BC, Sussex
 2017  Lyndhurst BC, Durham  Ilminster BC, Somerset

2017 Club of the Year Entry Form (PDF)
2017 Club of the Year Entry Form (Word)

Recommend a friend


©Copyright Bowls England 2016
Site by Warren Creative
Return to homepage Follow us on twitter Join us on facebook Recommend a friend Sign up for newsletter Back to top of page